Canada World Cup squad: News and analysis ahead of Qatar 2022 team announcement

In what will be their first World Cup in 36 years, Canada will look to surprise everyone at this winter’s World Cup.

Under manager John Herdman, Canada has been on an incredible journey. They rose from No.72 to No.40 in the FIFA world rankings after he took over four years ago and a team spirit was created that ultimately helped them secure their place in the tournament.

They earned their place at the World Championship the hard way, fighting through the so-calledThe 2 early rounds of CONCACAF qualifying will feature Mexico and the United States.

Also Read :  Ronaldo v Messi – the absurd timeline of how they have driven each other to break records

Canada also boasts a squad full of talent like Alphonso Davies and Jonathan David. Striker Cyle Larin, who currently plays for Club Brugge, has 25 goals in 54 international appearances.

They face a tricky group alongside Belgium, Croatia and Morocco, but will have every hope of making it to the knockout stages of the World Cup.

Canada’s newest national team

Goalkeepers: Dane St. Clair (Minnesota United), Maxim Crepo (LAFC), Milan Borjan (Crvena Zvezda Belgrade), Alistair Johnston (Montreal)

Defenders: Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Sam Adekugbe (Hattayspor), Kamal Miller (Montreal), Derek Cornelius (Panetolikos), Richie Laria (Toronto FC), Scott Kennedy (Jan Regensburg), Joel Waterman (Montreal), Stephen Vitoria (Chavs)

Also Read :  Biden holds emergency talks with world leaders on Poland explosion

Midfielders: Samuel Piet (Montreal), Ismael Kone (Montreal), Stephen Eustaquio (Porto), Marc-Anthony Kaye (Toronto FC), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC)

Strikers: Lucas Cavallini (Vancouver Whitecaps), Junior Hoilett (Reading), Theo Corbeanu (Blackpool), Charles-Andreas Brim (FC Eindhoven), Ike Ugbo (Troy), Luca Coleocho (Espanyol), Cyle Larin (Club Brugge), Liam Millar ( Club Brugge (Basel), Jonathan David (Lille), Tayon Buchanan (Club Brugge)

Canada’s recent international calls

Goalkeepers: Milan Borjan (Red Star from Belgrade)

Also Read :  LGBTQ World Cup Fans Fear Prison For Kissing In Qatar

Defenders: Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Stephen Vitoria (Chavez), Sam Adekugbe (Hatayspor)

Midfielders: Stephen Eustaquio (Porto), Atiba Hutchinson (Besiktas), David Wotherspoon (St Johnstone)

Attackers: Junior Hoilett (Reading), Cyle Larin (Club Brugge), Tayon Buchanan (Club Brugge), Liam Millar (Basel), Jonathan David (Lille)

Friday, October 21: Submit preliminary roster (35-55 players).

Monday, November 14: Final roster of 23-26 players to be submitted

Tuesday, November 15: FIFA will officially announce all 32 squads

go deeper


World Cup provisional squads explained

(Photo: Getty Images)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button